Bjorn Stevens selected as 2017 Jule Charney Lecture recipient

Prof Dr Bjorn Stevens, director at the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology and head of the department "The Atmosphere in the Earth System", was selected the 2017 Jule Charney Lecture recipient by the American Geophysical Union (AGU).

Lecture Recipients are recognized by the AGU for outstanding contributions toward the advancement and promotion of discovery in Earth and space science.

The Jule Charney Lecture was established in memory of Jule Charney the leading figure in the development of meteorology and climate science in the second half of the 20th century. Past lecture recipients include Leonard Smith (2013), David Thompson (2005) and Ulrike Lohmann (2014), who will be presenting their work at this years 4th International Conference on Earth System Modelling in Hamburg. Last year's recipient, Meinrat Andreae, is also from the Max Planck Society.

Prof Stevens will deliver his lecture to the AGU Fall Meeting in New Orleans in December.

More information:
Jule Charney Lecture

Prof Dr Bjorn Stevens
Max Planck Institute for Meteorology
Phone: +49 (0) 40 41173 422 (Assistant Angela Gruber)
Email: bjorn.stevens@we dont want