Global Vegetation Modelling

Most of the global land masses is covered with plants. Hence, vegetation plays an important role for the exchange of energy and matter between land and atmosphere. Especially because of the binding of CO2 during the process of photosynthesis, vegetation plays a major role for climate change, besides oceans and land ice.

To investigate the role of vegetation for the global climate in more detail, we developed the land and vegetation model JSBACH. Using this in global climate simulations we especially study the feedbacks between climate and the global carbon cycle.

Group members

Name Position Arbeitsgebiet Raum Tel.: E-Mail
Suman Halder Student Ass. N2O in the Earth system G1710 -215 suman.halder@we dont want
Pinhsin Hu Master student Plants & CO2-Transport G1727 -254 dont want
Sirisha Kalidindi PhD student Terra planet G1713 -148
Guilherme Mendonca PhD student Land carbon response G1710 -215 guilherme.mendonca@we dont want
Thomas Raddatz Scient. programmer Klima und Vegetation G1721 -264 thomas.raddatz@we dont want
Christian Reick Group leader Climate & vegetation G1722 -117 christian.reick@we dont want
Rainer Schneck Postdoc ICON modeling G1712 -218 rainer.schneck@we dont want
Reiner Schnur Scient. programmer Climate modelling G1716 -379 reiner.schnur@we dont want

Former group members

Su Young Cha
Philipp de Vrese (2016-2017)
Ingrid Engvall
Helge Gößling (2008-2012)
Ute Karstens (2010-2015)
Katharina Kern (2009-2010,2012-2015)
Deike Kleberg
Wolfgang Knorr
Daniela Kracher (2010-2017)
Ludwig Lierhammer (2013-2015)
Andreas Miller
Caroline Narayan
Victoria Naipal (2012-2015)
Bikash Parida (2007-2011)
Olga Petrikova (2010-2013)
Julia Pongratz (2008-2010)
Rainer Schneck (2011-2013)
Karl-Georg Schnitzler
Katsumasa Tanaka