Global Vegetation Modelling

Most of the global land masses is covered with plants. Hence, vegetation plays an important role for the exchange of energy and matter between land and atmosphere. Especially because of the binding of CO2 during the process of photosynthesis, vegetation plays a major role for climate change, besides oceans and land ice.

 

To investigate the role of vegetation for the global climate in more detail, we developed the land and vegetation model JSBACH. Using this in global climate simulations we especially study the feedbacks between climate and the global carbon cycle.

Group members

Name Position Field of interest Room Tel. Email
Helge Gößling PhD. student Interaction Vegetation/Hydrology G1712 -218 helge.goessling@we dont want spamzmaw.de
Ute Karstens Guest Atmospheic CO2, Hydrogen N113 -341 ute.karstens@we dont want spamzmaw.de
Daniela Kracher Postdoc Nitrogen cycle G1713 -126 daniela.kracher@we dont want spamzmaw.de
Bikash Parida PhD. student Nitrogen cycle G1710 -215 bikash.parida@we dont want spamzmaw.de
Thomas Raddatz Scientific Programmer Climate and vegetation G1721 -264 thomas.raddatz@we dont want spamzmaw.de
Christian Reick Group leader Climate and vegetation G1722 -117 christian.reick@we dont want spamzmaw.de
Reiner Schnur Scientific Programmer Climate models G1716 -379 reiner.schnur@we dont want spamzmaw.de

Former group members

Su Young Cha

Ingrid Engvall

Helge Gößling (2008-2012)

Katharina Kern (2009-2010)

Ludwig Lierhammer (2013-2015)

Andreas Miller

Caroline Narayan

Victoria Naipal (2012-2015)

Bikash Parida (2007-2011)

Olga Petrikova (2010-2013)

Julia Pongratz (2008-2010)

Rainer Schneck (2011-2013)

Karl-Georg Schnitzler

Katsumasa Tanaka

Workshop on Holocene reconstruction of land use, 6-7 January 2011

Presentations from the workshop.