Scientific Working Groups

The basic unit of organization within the department is the scientific working group. Working groups are lead by a senior scientist, and carry the responsibility for developing and maintaining the department's infrastructure. The working groups reflect the interests of their group leader, while contributing to the strategic priorities of the department and its director. In addition to the scientific working groups, the department is also proud to occasionally host independent, externally funded, junior research groups and one Max Planck Fellow Group, which while they have a more independent structure, also contribute vitally to the scientific life of the department.


Director's Research Group (Prof. Dr. Martin Claussen)

Climate-Biogeosphere Interaction (Prof. Dr. Victor Brovkin)

Global Vegetation Modelling (Dr. Christian Reick)

Terrestrial Remote Sensing (Dr. Stephan Bakan)

Boundary Layer Measurements and Modelling (Dr. Felix Ament, Dr.  Andreas Chlond)


Emmy Noether Junior Research Group

Forest Management in the Earth System (Prof. Julia Pongratz)